Cooking on Easy Street :: Chipotle Inspired Burrito Bowl

COES-F2

Have you ever eaten at those fast food burrito restaurants? Moe’s, Qdoba, Chipotle. Well, I really enjoy them, and Chipotle happens to be my favorite. I love their philosophy of food and that they get locally sourced produce when they can. But most of all, I just love their food. And no, this isn’t a Chipotle sponsored post . . . but maybe I’ll send this in and ask for retroactive funding. ūüėČ

BurritoBowlC1

Really, this is more about how you can get Chipotle-like food at home, so I doubt they’d be too happy about that. Like I said, I really enjoy their food, especially the burrito bowl and fresh guac and chips. It’s much easier to consume than that burrito the size of a large eggplant they hand you. I always end up with beans on my lap, lettuce in my hair, and rice on my chin. I much prefer being more in control of my food, exercising that whole dominion over the earth thing through the use of my fork. Besides, the bowl is massive and easy to share with any little ones you have tagging along.

IMG_3055

That particular meal at Chipotle costs me $10 though, and I knew it couldn’t be that hard to make. So I decided to make my own. And while my chicken doesn’t quite taste exactly like theirs, I still gobbled this up so fast, that I had a moment of slight depression when the last leftover had been eaten the next day.

IMG_3059

The grocery list may look a bit long, but that’s because you’re buying mostly produce that just needs chopped up a bit. I timed myself and found that all the chopping {and I went at normal speed and attended to a 2-year-old in the process} took under 10 minutes. So believe me, this meal is super simple. And the best part is that all the toppings are optional. You can tweak it however you like. Leave out the chicken for a vegetarian meal, swap the black beans for pinto beans, leave out the cheese {or forget it unintentionally like me}. It will still taste good . The one thing I wouldn’t recommend eliminating is the cilantro & lime brown rice. That pretty much makes it.

IMG_3089 BurritoBowlC2

Chipotle Inspired Burrito Bowl

{serves 4}

Cilantro & Lime Brown Rice 

[ingredients] 

_________________________

1 cup brown or white rice, dry 

2 cups chicken or vegetable broth

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 cup cilantro, coarsely chopped 

1 lime, juiced 

2 Tbsp olive oil

1/4 tsp coarse salt

Toppings 

[ingredients] 

_________________________

olive oil, for sauteing 

1 can black beans, drained 

lettuce, chopped 

corn kernels, from 1 ear or 1/2 cup

1 bell pepper, sliced 

1/2 onion, sliced 

1/2 lb. chicken, diced 

fajita seasoning*

fresh salsa or 1 large tomato, diced

cheese

chips

[directions] 

________________________

First.¬†Start your rice first if you’re using brown rice. It takes about 35-40 minutes to cook a cup. Pour broth {water is fine too, but broth really enhances the flavor}, salt, and rice into pot, bring to boil, cover, reduce heat to low, and cook until all the water is absorbed.

Chop. Prepping your vegetables takes less than 10 minutes. Select the ones your family enjoys and wash those and slice, dice, or chop accordingly. Make sure to roll your lime before slicing open for easier squeezing.

Saute. With a little bit of olive oil over med-high heat, saute bell pepper and onion, adding in the corn {if using}, after bell pepper softens slightly. Cook until just limp and onion is translucent. Or if you prefer, you can always saute them longer. I generally like a firmer veggie. Remove from pan and keep warm. Season chicken to taste {if using}, and add to pan with a little more olive oil, and saute until no longer pink, about 4-5 minutes.

Finish rice. When the rice is finished, add in the olive oil, cilantro, garlic, and juiced lime {adding in the lime according to taste}. Mix until flavor is evenly distributed. Garnish with a few extra leaves of cilantro, if desired.

Combine. Layer your bowl in any order you choose, with any ingredients you choose, and enjoy! Serve with cheese and chips if desired.

IMG_3056

IMG_3091

And there you have it! Another simple meal to add to your menu.

*PS: If you like making your own seasoning combinations, this is my fajita seasoning recipe:

Fajita Seasoning 

{double recipe}

[ingredients] 

________________________

4 tsp chili powder

2 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp onion powder

4 tsp kosher salt

2 tsp ground cumin

1 Tbsp firmly packed brown sugar

[directions] 

_________________________

Combine. Mix together and store in airtight container in cool, dry place.

{cilantro & lime rice adapted from: Martha Stewart}

{fajita seasoning from: Bride and Groom, first and forever cookbook}

4 comments

  1. Everything looks GORGEOUS, friend. Cannot believe you’re doing this without photoshop. ūüôā I love any and all food that is mexican…definitely stashing this away fora rainy day. Currently I’m trying to clean out my fridge for our trip in two weeks. WOOT WOOT!

    1. ūüôā iPhoto still helps some! Not sure I would know what to do even if I had photoshop! haha! What kind do you use by the way? Been saving up the pennies for some software. Yay for trips! Ali and I are two weeks out from one as well. You heading South or North?

  2. this looks so really good! totally enjoy reading the “cooking on easy street” posts !

    1. Oh it is! Kinda craving that cilantro & lime rice at this very moment actually. Yum! Thanks so much reading!

So whatcha thinkin'?

