Almond Sugar Cookies

This last September my husband went away to Delaware for a month. That was before we knew we would be moving to Baltimore, before he even started interviewing for residency. So much has changed since then.

Not my love of sweets, however! Baking is a weekly indulgence, part of my life’s rhythm. And when my husband was off scoutin’ out a residency program for 30 days and I needed something to occupy another quiet evening at home with just me and the girl, I browsed through my pinterest boards, selected a recipe I hadn’t tried yet, and whipped these right up. I was blown away at how soft and delicious they were. Yeah, there’s butter and shortening in there, but hey, you gotta live a little!

This past week, a fellow instagrammer/blogger was worried she had mistaken one of my photos of something healthy and wholesome as monkey bread. “Bahahahahaha” was my reply. “I’m a health nut Mondays, Wednesdays, somedays”, I told her.

It was indeed monkey bread.

And it is gone now,

all gone.

Go ahead. Enjoy some weekend baking! You know you want to!!

IMG_2834

Almond Sugar Cookies

{makes approx. 2 dozen}

[ingredients]

_________________________

1 1/2 cups white sugar

2/3 cups butter, cold

2/3 cups shortening, room temp

2 eggs

2 tsp almond extract

2 3/4 cups cake flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 Tbsp cornstarch

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

sugar in the raw, for dusting

[directions]

_________________________

Pre-heat. Oven to 350 degrees and prepare baking sheet.

Combine. Cream sugar, butter and shortening. Stir in eggs and almond extract. Combine flour, cornstarch, baking powder and salt and add to butter/egg mixture. Use electric mixer to ensure dough is thoroughly combined.

Chill. Dough in fridge for 30 minutes.

Form. Roll 2 tsp of dough (I used a small cookie scoop) into a ball and roll in raw sugar. Place on prepared pan. Return remaining dough to fridge in between baking each batch.

Cook. Bake cookies for 7 minutes. Remove from oven and gently press rounded tops of cookies flat with the back of a spoon while the cookies are still warm and pliable. The cornstarch will keep the dough from spreading, so this step just makes them look better! DO NOT bake longer than 8 minutes!! They may seem under-baked, but when they cool they will firm up. Allow to cool on pan for 1 minute. Remove to cooling rack. Cool completely.

IMG_2833

{original source: Confections from the Cody Kitchen}

{photo source: my iPhone}

Happy friday!

So whatcha thinkin'?

