Balsamic Chicken Sandwiches

My mom used to try and coax me into the kitchen when I still lived at home, teach me a few things, show me that there was more to life than studying Biology and failing Chemistry. But since I was muddling through Chemistry and working towards gaining acceptance into a Physician’s Assistant program, I always declined and marched straight to my desk to lay out my impressive collection of gargantuan science textbooks and get to work.

After a while though, God re-directed my course, and instead of PA I became Mom to a beautifully passionate little girl, and a wife to an aspiring doctor {now intern at Johns Hopkins}.

Balsamic Chicken Sandwich Recipe | {Re}visionary Life

I exchanged textbooks for cookbooks, lab coat for apron, safety goggles for camera, beakers for measuring cups, pipettes for children’s medicine droppers, and bunsen burners for a stove. And while my surroundings and instruments have undergone a drastic change, I’m still in sweet bondage to precision and accuracy, insisting on measuring everything with scientific scrutiny, getting eye level with liquid measurements and following every jot and tittle of a recipe. Salt is the exception, for that I just wing it. But that’s about as rebellious as I get. Brazen, I know.

Balsamic Chicken Sandwich Recipe | {Re}visionary Life

So if you told me then how I would be now, carefully measuring out ingredients to yet another pinterest recipe, pausing from time to time to capture a picture of the mess, warding off the influx of forks at dinner to obtain one final photo of the masterpiece, not yet deemed acceptable by taste, I would have scoffed, adding that I would never become such a freak.

{sigh} Was I ever wrong. But since all good scientists like proof, here it is:

Balsamic Chicken Sandwich Recipe | {Re}visionary Life

Balsamic-Glazed Chicken and Bell Pepper Sandwiches

{serves 4-6}

[ingredients] 

_________________________

4 teaspoons olive oil, divided
½ teaspoon salt, divided
1¼ pounds chicken breast tenders
½ cup balsamic vinegar, divided
2 cups red bell pepper strips, about 2 medium {it is sometimes cheaper to purchase them canned}
2 cups vertically sliced red onion, about 1 large
4 ounces provolone cheese, thinly sliced
⅛ teaspoon black pepper
bread, chiabata or no-work bread 
[directions] 
_________________________
Prep. Slice peppers and onions. Heat 2 teaspoons oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Sprinkle ¼ teaspoon salt over chicken.
Saute. Add chicken to pan; cook 1 minute on each side until lightly browned. Add ¼ cup vinegar; cook 2 minutes or until chicken is done and vinegar is syrupy. Remove chicken mixture from the pan; cover and keep warm. Wipe pan clean with a paper towel. Return pan to medium-high heat; add remaining 2 teaspoons oil. Add bell pepper and onion; sauté 7 minutes or until tender. Stir in remaining ¼ teaspoon salt and remaining ¼ cup vinegar; cook 1 minute or until vinegar is syrupy.
Broil. Cut your hearty bread into sandwich slices, brush with a wee bit of olive oil and broil until slightly crisp. Add a slice of provolone cheese to the inside face of both the top and bottom halves and place back under the broiler until just melted.
Assemble. Arrange the chicken evenly over bottom halves of bread and top with bell pepper mixture followed by a sprinkle of black pepper. Top with top halves of bread. Place a heavy skillet on top of sandwiches, let stand 5 minutes.
Balsamic Chicken Sandwich Recipe | {Re}visionary Life
Recipe source: My awesome sister-in-law, Trinity
2 comments

  1. These look great!! But, I have to say, I giggled while reading. I am such a wing-it cook. I make up recipes as I go, substitute things that I hope will work, and guess how much flour is left in the bag. Which, in all honesty, kind of surprises me. I can be perfectionistic with some things, just not in the kitchen. And I always just make sure to have a good take-out number on hand. 🙂

    I will look forward to trying these!!

    1. I WISH I were that bold and creative! It just isn’t in me to depart from the safe, calculated, tried-and-true way of recipe abiding. 😉 Maybe if I knew of more good take-out restaurants I would venture outside my comfort zone more! Haha! Enjoy ’em!

So whatcha thinkin'?

