Strawberry Poptarts

PT15

If you haven’t picked up on my love of food yet, sweets and carbs namely, you’re either new here or slightly oblivious {no offense}.

PT13

So when my creative sister-in-law gave me a potted strawberry plant, accompanied by recipes for all things strawberry for Christmas I began to feel like this family I married into was really starting to get me.

PTC5

Gardening is her thing so I took her advice and trimmed back the blossoms on the plant to allow the plant to fill out more this year instead of harvesting the berries.

PT8

Homemade strawberry jam is my mother-in-law’s thing; so I invited myself over for a jam making lesson using the fresh berries from a local farm. But next year, it’s gonna be fresh berries from my crazy leafy plant!

PTC1

She not only gave me a lesson and the berries with which to cook, but also threw in a jar from her own scrumptious batch.

PTC6

Combine that delicious gift with the recipes from my sister-in-law and you get one big craving for strawberry sweets.

PT20

So I did what I normally do when craving strikes . . . I caved. Maybe I’ve convinced you to as well?

PT5

Strawberry “Pop-Tarts”

{yields 8}

[ingredients]

_________________________

2 cups plus 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour, plus additional for shaping and rolling

1 tsp kosher salt, coarse

1 tsp sugar

1 cup chilled unsalted butter, cut into 1/2 inch cubes

4 Tbsp ice water

12 Tbsp strawberry preserves, preferably homemade

Powdered sugar

Fresh strawberries

[directions]

_________________________

Mix and chill. Whisk flour, salt, and sugar in a large bowl. Add butter. Using fingertips or back of fork, blend in butter until mixture resembles coarse meal. Add ice water by tablespoonfuls, tossing until moist clumps form. Gather dough into ball. Divide in half; shape each half into disk. Wrap in plastic. Chill at least 1 hour.

Roll and form.Line 2 large rimmed baking sheets with parchment. Working with 1 disk at a time, roll out dough on floured surface to about 13×11 inches. Trim to 12×10-inch rectangle, then cut into eight 5×3-inch rectangles.

Fill and chill. Arrange 4 rectangles, spaced apart, on each sheet. Spoon 1 1/2 tablespoons preserves in row down center of each rectangle. Top preserves with second dough rectangle. Using fingertips, gently press all edges of each tart to seal; press all edges with tines of fork to double-seal. Using toothpick, poke a few holes in center of top dough rectangle. Cover; freeze tarts on sheets at least 2 hours and up to 1 week.

Bake and serve. Position 1 rack in top third and 1 rack in bottom third of oven and preheat to 375Ā°F. Bake frozen tarts uncovered until golden, reversing sheets after 15 minutes, 25 to 30 minutes total (some preserves may leak out). Immediately transfer tarts to rack. Sift powdered sugar lightly over. Serve warm or at room temperature with fresh berries.

PTC4

PT16

The weekend is here so whip these up this afternoon so you can pop ’em in the oven for a special Saturday morning breakfast tomorrow!

PT21

{source}

11 comments

  1. I thought the only way to get pop tarts was to buy them at a grocery store. This has officially blown my mind. The recipe sounds great šŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing and best of luck with everything.

    1. I had no idea pop-tarts could have such a profound impact on people. haha! I hope the taste of them is even more mind blowing than the sight of ’em šŸ˜‰ Thank you so much for stopping by and making me smile with your sweet comment!!!

      1. šŸ™‚ Thanks for the recipe. if you ever want to read some funny and inspirational stories, you are more than welcome to come by my blog and have a Cup of Joe.

      2. Actually just read the one about love and Disney movies. Great writing! Just hadn’t had time to comment on it yet šŸ™‚

      3. Thanks, I really appreciate that and glad you enjoyed your Cup of Joe.

  2. Carol Gray · · Reply

    Thanks, Susanna! I’m doing a Bible study right now with two other ladies using From Fear to Freedom. It also centers on Galations and living as free and loved, not as an orphan (having to make it all happen by yourself with “grit”). Love your posts! Love your car! So
    happy for you. I will tell my ladies to check out your post. Have a great day!

    1. Sounds like a wonderful study! I’ll have to look into it. I wish I could be part of that study, learning from the wisdom God has given you! Thank you for your constant encouragement Mrs. Gray! Love you so dearly!

  3. Tricia · · Reply

    These are so amazing. I think you should make these on June 6. Haha.

    1. We should definitely celebrate that day šŸ˜‰

  4. These look utterly delicious! I want to make these sometime!

    1. Oh you must!!! So very good šŸ˜‰

So whatcha thinkin'?

