Weekend Recap: Easter edition

{Lent}ย We wrapped up our Lent observance this past weekend. What a difference this 40 day journey made in our Easter celebration! I’m so grateful for the devotional resource The Gospel Coalition put on their website!

{a day in the life} “I did it!” is one of Ali’s favorite phrases these days. After piling her toys, blankets, and animals up high on my bed Friday morning she announced victory and laid down in satisfaction. Between her major toy migration and enthusiastic park play she wore herself out and took a sound first nap in her new toddler bed.

{eggs} I debated long and hard about dying eggs with a 2-year-old, but in the end, I’m glad I did. She was thrilled. Pixar shorts came to the rescue while we waited for the eggs to “nap” in the dye, preventing her from mixing them to death.

{running fuel} The Pioneer Woman’s eggs and hash browns were perfectly portioned for our before run breakfast. With only 3 more long training runs before the big day, Beth and I pushed through to 9 miles on the lovely swamp rabbit trail in Greenville! Since I couldn’t make it to the Seder I had planned to attend this past week, a friend brought me the leftover lamb and pita bread, which {paired with feta, hummus, lettuce, and tomatoes} made for an excellent after run lunch. nomnom! It really cheered me up. Thank you Carissa!

{hot cross buns} The Pioneer Woman does it again! Apart from the blackened bottoms, they were amazing! Note to self: check the undersides as well as the tops while baking . . . Still, after trimming off the bottoms they made for a yummy Easter breakfast.

{Easter fun} I made a big deal to Aletheia that Easter was a celebration, that we do fun things, exciting things, yummy things even, to celebrate the joy, delight, and security of Jesus’ coming back to life. She didn’t have a problem with that and eagerly searched for eggs, cuddled the bunny I made for her, and oohed and awed over the fruit snacks, carrots, and gummy bears in her Easter basket. Oh, and I had fun too ๐Ÿ˜‰ And yeah, who needs an Easter dress when you’re two and can still run around in your panties? That’s how we roll.

{at play} My diligent husband has been working 6 out of 7 days a week this rotation, and we were blessed to have him all day this Sunday. This man, the one that works so hard, that teaches so patiently, that protects so lovingly, that sacrifices so willingly: he is my love, and I have it so, so good.
And while I don’t have any pictures for it {I’m sure I have more than enough already}, our Good Friday and Easter services at church were incredible. Incredible because they made the name of God big, celebrated His power, His love, His justice, His overwhelming goodness. Incredible because truth was exalted and applied to broken, hurting hearts, like mine. Click on the link to give a listen!
Do you have any Easter traditions that you enjoyed this past weekend? I’m a sucker for learning new/different ways to celebrate timeless holidays. Do share!ย 
ย 
Excited to be linking up to Annapolis & Company again! She has some incredibly funny tales to tell this weekend, so go check it out!
8 comments

  1. Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog, friend! Okay good to know about those Pioneer Woman buns. She has the best recipes that are so practical and yummy!

  2. Susanna! You have no idea how proud I am of you and Bethany for training for the half! I gave up when the weather turned sour and work went bonkers over here, but I will do it…someday!!!! I can't wait to see pictures of your race. You GO girls.

  3. You're welcome! I could have seriously just eaten the dough, it was that good! Have fun with 'em! You probably could even just skip the bun shaping step {that just sounds awkward . . . } and roll the flattened dough up for cinnamon rolls instead. She even says it's her cinnamon roll recipe ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Well don't be proud of me just yet . . . I haven't quite run it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ And I'm not so sure about training this morning . . . too lazy. Hopefully I'll get the motivation too. Honestly, it's my sis that keeps me going. I just can't wait to finish the race by her side. I'm looking forward to that more than anything. And I am so proud of YOU for all the work you're putting in and the success God is giving you two. Exciting times ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Hot cross buns, something I've never thought to make. They look good so I guess I'll have to try them some time!Clearly you guys had fun decoratin Easter eggs, it sounds like. Great weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. It was my first time this year! But I don't think it will be my last. Yummo ๐Ÿ˜‰ Thanks for stopping by!

  7. What a beautiful recap! Those eggs and hash browns look delicious-Thank you for sharing links to the recipes & devotional!

  8. And thank YOU for stopping by again! Let me know if you try out that devotional. So so good.

So whatcha thinkin'?

