Our Adventure: Match Day edition

After nearly 4 years of medical school,

8 residency interviews,

approximately 5,000 miles driven,

6+ airplanes taken,

2+ taxis rides,

a couple bus trips,

and 2 trains,

we’ve come to Match Day.

There really is no other way to describe it other than a grand adventure.

And today it culminates in finding out where we’ve been assigned to spend the next 4 years of our adventure.

March 15th, 2013.

We’ve waited a long time for you.

I can’t quite communicate the thrill that we experienced today as our name was called to approach the front of the room and receive our envelope, the one containing our destination.

We’ve been so full of anticipation, excitement, eagerness, and joy. A few wise and encouraging residency veterans have offered counsel, cautioning us to prepare ourselves for the toll the demands of this period is going to place on our family and marriage. I’d like to think we’ve listened, sobered up a bit. Thank God for people that have traveled this road ahead of us!

But like a mother welcomes her firstborn with great eagerness and excitement, not fully realizing, for the beautiful moment, how difficult motherhood can actually be, we too are all grin and not much sober thought at the realization of our dreams come true.

Baltimore, MD we’re ready for you.

10 comments

  1. Congratulations!!!! God bless you on the journey you're about to embark on πŸ™‚ – The girl you met on the plane in New York πŸ™‚

  2. I can't believe you stopped by! So good to hear from you! You're definitely one of the best plane buddies I've ever had the pleasure of being seated next to. πŸ™‚ Thank you so much for the kind congratulation and for the encouragement. We're so thrilled with this opportunity. Please, please, please keep me posted on your educational pursuits. You've got such a determined spirit, and I can't imagine the amazing places it's going to take you. Thanks again for checking in and congratulating us!

  3. Hey, congrats on Baltimore! Great comparison you used with a mother & her firstborn. I totally understand what you're saying! Good luck with everything! πŸ™‚

  4. Thank you so much Tracy! We're just bubbling over with excitement over here as it gets closer and closer to moving time πŸ˜€

  5. You're very welcome! I made a mental note to come by on March 15 to see where your husband would match at, so I would check on here from time to time. I really like your blog, and I'll continue to stop by on here to see what you are up to. And yes so were you! So friendly and kind-hearted. I will keep you updated for sure, good luck again and God bless you πŸ™‚

  6. Thanks girl! I don't plan on discontinuing my little blog for a while, so I'd be happy to have you along for the ride. πŸ™‚

  7. I went to BJU with Daniel our freshman year. So excited to see his successful match, congratulations! I look forward to my own match day in less than two years now! πŸ™‚ Good to see you all are doing well! God bless you on this new and exciting journey!Jaclyn (Guba) Havinga

  8. Thanks for stopping by! Yes, match day is an awesome experience. Look foward to it, but definitely enjoy the journey along the way. Thanks for the kind words. I let Daniel know πŸ™‚

  9. […] but I wasn’t quite prepared for how I would react that day. It was my first run after Match Day, and moving was becoming more and more a reality.Β Tears started falling, my breathing quickened as […]

  10. […] But there were also many high points; when Daniel received his outstanding board scores, the outings and meals with our med school friends, the thrill of assisting with surgeries and newborn deliveries, the adventures of the residency interview trail, and Match Day. […]

So whatcha thinkin'?

