Random Facts About Me {{Liebster Nominee}}

Lucky me, I was nominated to participate in this bloggy get-to-know-you-game {Thanks Mary Beth!}. Includes: embarrassment in high doses, confessions, quirks, and whims. 

 

{{My 11 Random Facts}}

{1} I instinctively rest my hand over the steering wheel horn when passing a semi. Been nearly run off the road one too many times I guess.

{2} I can’t whistle or snap my fingers. Extremely debilitating disability I tell you. Humming and clapping will have to do.

{3} When my husband comes to bed after I have fallen asleep I wake up and freak out like a burglar broke in. Every time.

{4} I tend to talk like whoever I hang around. I have been known to unintentionally speak with a southern, northern, English, and valley girl accent, depending on whose company I’ve been in.

{5} My ears are only slightly bigger than my toddler’s.

{6} With the exception of Caesar, I don’t like salad dressings.

{7} I’ve traveled to Israel and Cameroon, Africa and am always looking forward to the day when I’ll get to travel internationally again.

{8} My tastes buds still haven’t matured enough to appreciate any beverage other than milk, water, lemonade, or juice . . . though I have been known to drink hot chocolate once in a while. My husband is trying to educate me in the way of coffee and tea . . . I don’t seem to be catching on.

{9} I fold all my bath towels in the same exact way and make sure they are stacked with the crease facing the same direction. OCD a little?

{10} I’m the oldest granddaughter on my mom’s side of the family. I wore my grandmother’s wedding tiara when I got married, and it was the most precious connection to her since she had passed away when I was 8.

{11} Brown eggs make me happy, and every once in a while I spend the extra $0.50 to buy them.

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><
 
{{Answering Mary Beth}} 
{1}  If you could live anywhere, where would it be? This is quite an appropriate question for me because that is exactly what my life is about these days. Currently I’m loving Philly and Portland, ME, but I’m not particularly sure where I’m gonna end up. There are 8 realistic choices right now {for my husband’s medical residency}. If we’re talking unrealistically then I’d say I’d love to have the chance to live in Ireland or Israel. 
{2}  What’s been your most embarrassing moment to date? Seriously Mary Beth?! Do I have to? You could probably name a few of mine yourself. I can’t believe I’m about to put this out there on the blogosphere, but here goes. When I was 6 I attended a Wednesday night kid’s program with my friend at her church. I was painfully shy at the time and didn’t dare to talk to people I didn’t know. While all the kids were playing a relay game around a big circle I started to get really antsy because I had to pee really, really bad. But since I was so shy I couldn’t bring myself to ask someone where the bathroom was. For some reason I was embarrassed that I had to pee. Weird huh? Anyway, I held it for so long that I actually wet my 6-year-old self just in time for a girl to be rounding the circle right in front of me. She didn’t quite make it around that turn. The floor was a bit slippery. Mortified. The end. 
{3}  What is your creative outlet? I’d have to say it’s blogging. I’m still not sure what my blog’s focus is or the whole reason for why I blog, but blogging has given me a small space to record the day-to-day in creative formats. It’s something I so very grateful for and something I plan to continue doing for the foreseeable future. 
{4}  What did you eat for breakfast this morning? Cheerios . . . along with my 2-year-old. I’m trying to lower my cholesterol . . . I kid. Options were limited this morning. 
{5}  What makes a good friend? A good friend appreciates and values her friend’s differences and listens well . . . or as best as she can when children are involved. Which is often in my experience. 
{6}  What has been the most important day of your life? There are so many days I could choose from; the day I was saved, the day I got engaged, married, had a baby, etc. But the one thing that keeps coming back to mind is the day I sat down with my youth pastor in front of a hotel in Africa and was taught that I could be my own personality. That I didn’t have to adopt someone else’s personality to be perfect. That I didn’t have to be perfect. Ever since then I’ve come back to this theme over and over again. It was one of the most important conversations of my life. 
{7}  Do you prefer to love or prefer to be loved? I really struggle with letting people love me. So I definitely choose to love, rather than be loved. But then again there are those days when I’m super glad my husband chooses to push aside my denials for help and gives me that back massage I’ve been dying for. 
{8} Fear aside, what is the one thing you wish you were brave enough to do? I wish to be brave enough to go scuba diving one day. For some reason, being under water for an extended period of time gives me the feeling I’ll be repeating my 6-year-old self’s most embarrassing moment. 
{9} Who inspires you? She doesn’t know this, but Carol S. inspires me to love people like nobody else. She is a dear woman from my church that is always serving, always smiling, and always praying. I beg God to give me her gift of service someday. 
{10} Do you feel most invigorated when you spend time with other people or being by yourself? It depends. I almost never feel invigorated after a party. Crowds have always been physically draining for me, but one-on-one is my favorite. That’s my element. I crave it. Alone time is always refreshing and rejuvenating. Give me a book, a run, my Bible, a cursor blinking on an empty screen, a humming sewing machine, a hike, or a bowl of moose track ice cream and an episode of Downton Abbey, and my heart will be ‘a singin’. 
{11} Please finish this sentence…I wish I had known… that I don’t have to protect my reputation, that what people think of me really doesn’t matter, that my identity is in Jesus, not my looks, personality, popularity, or ability. 

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

Now I get to tag 11 bloggers at the bottom and here are the rules:
{1}  Each blogger should post 11 random facts about themselves.
{2}  Answer the questions the tagger has set for you, then create 11 new questions for the bloggers you pass the award to.
{3}  Choose 11 new bloggers (or with less than 200 followers) to pass the award to and link them in your post.
{4} Go to their page and tell them about the award.
{5}  No tag backs.
{{My 11 nominees}} 
 
 
><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><
{{11 Questions for my Nominees}}


{1} Are you a reader? If so, when did your love for reading begin and with what book?

{2} What is your favorite landscape? Sea, mountains, beach, city?

{3} What is your favorite way to travel? Plane, car, bus, boat, train, bike, by foot?

{4} What is your favorite app and why?

{5} What is the one home-cooked meal you turn to when you’re under time pressure?

{6} What is the one thing in your home that must be organized for your sanity? 

{7} If you could learn any language what would it be and why?

{8} What is the one skill you hope to perfect?

{9} Describe your fashion style in three words {e.g. vintage. neutral. soft}.

{10} Are you a morning person, night owl, nap enthusiast, or a survivor with alternating routines?

{11} Fess up. Are you a Downton Abbey fan. If so, what’s your reason for watching?

So whatcha thinkin'?

