Annapolis Recipe Swap: Whole Wheat Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

You may have noticed that I have zero graphic design/blog formatting skillz . . . zilch, nada, nothing.
To learn is a dream of mine that I will one day pursue. Given the fact that “one day” is most likely a ways away, I’m pretty pumped about this new series being started over at Annapolis & Company.
 

P+B Honey Recipe Swap @ Annapolis

 Yeah for swapping tried and true recipes!
I’ve wanted to start something similar, and I’m just glad she beat me to it, because her presentation of it far outshines what I could ever come up with.
It’s a Tuesdays recipe swap link up party.
Here’s my contribution that I already promised I would be sharing with you in my August update.
I’m sure you’ve been dying to get your hands on these cookies ever since I teased you with that sneak peek, so I’ll just get right to it.
Whole Wheat Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies
 
 
Start with the typical, “mix dry ingredients in one bowl, set aside, . . .  
 
 
. . . and mix sugars and wet ingredients in the other bowl” step. 
 
Contrary to the usual “room temperature” butter, you’ll want it to be cold, and cut into small chunks. Very important! 
 
Also, King Arthur whole wheat flour is the best out there. The name always cracks me up because I tend to picture men with their swords propped up against their chairs, wearing frilly aprons over their metal armor, baking at a round table. But hey, quality flour is quality flour no matter what the name, right?! 
 
{I’m sharing some valuable cookie secrets here people. This is worth some serious brownie points!}

 

Cream the sugars and butter, adding in eggs, and vanilla as you go. 

 

 
Stir in your dry ingredients gradually. 

 

 
And add in those oh so perfect dark chocolate chips or chunks. Chunks just seem to belong in this recipe for some reason, but I was lazy and didn’t want to chop up the chocolate so I used chips. For the full effect I recommend chunks. Totally worth it the second time I made ’em. 

 

 
Scoop out the dough in 2-3 tablespoon size portions, depending on your dosage preference. 

 

 
Bake, and you’re done. 
 
Partially skip the cooling step if you want to experience them in all their whole wheat, gooey dark chocolate glory. 

 

 
I may never make chocolate chip cookies the “old way” ever again! 

 

 
And if you’re thinking to yourself, “my kids would never eat these”, think again . . . 
 
 
One happy baker-in-training right there! 
 
Thankful for a sister-in-law who passes along such awesome recipes to me! Thanks Trin! 
 
Whole Wheat Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies 
{makes about 2 dozen}
 
[dough]
_________________________
3 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoons kosher salt
2 sticks cold butter, cut into small pieces
1 cup dark brown sugar
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
8 ounces dark chocolate, chopped into chunks 

[directions] 
_________________________
Prep Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment.

Mix Whisk the whole wheat flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt together in a medium bowl. Set aside. In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugars. Once they are creamy, add the eggs {one at a time} and vanilla. Beat to combine. Add the dry ingredients in batches and mix. Finally, add the chopped chocolate and just stir to incorporate.

 
Portion & Bake Scoop balls of dough that are approximately 2-3 tablespoons worth. Bake for 16-20 minutes, rotating the pans if you are cooking more than one pan full at at time. 
 
{Original source
4 comments

  1. Just beautiful presentation, Susanna! And yay for healthy alternatives…I am ALL for that. Thank you so much for giving me a shout-out and supporting my little party. I always love your recipes. 🙂

  2. It's the sister-in-law. She's my secret weapon in the kitchen 😉 I have a few more of hers tucked away that I'll be sharing for many Tuesdays to come.

  3. […] best. Having restocked all my flours with the new month’s budget, I mixed up a batch of our favorite cookies Friday night. The texture of whole wheat is one of my […]

  4. […] as I was mixing up a batch of cookies this past weekend, with similar techniques and hopes of success, in my own home, far away from my […]

So whatcha thinkin'?

