Embracing Accusation

I’ve been listening to some pretty discouraging sermons the past couple of days . . . and weeks . . . dagnabit . . . my whole life even! My conscience and the Devil have been preaching condemnation, failure, and the law so forcefully and continually that my ears are literally ringing with damnation. 

You see, I’m one of those people that has a hard time (to put it mildly) letting go of mistakes I’ve made. In the quiet, still moments, I’ll often rehearse past mistakes over and over in my head, punishing myself with reproachful words and scheming out ways to “fix it.” Usually, these mistakes are related to broken relationships that I yearn to be restored and healed. “If only I could show them, I’ve changed now. I’m not who I was then”, I’ll think. 

Not today my friends. Not this morning. This morning I’m listening to a sermon packed full of words on forgiveness, hope, acceptance, righteousness, . . . Jesus! . . . and the Holy Spirit is preaching. Like Paul, I’m “forgetting what lies behind and straining forwards to what lies ahead.” I’m “[pressing] toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” 

By grace, I’m not going to fixate on past failure. By grace, I’m going to recognize that it’s not before men that I stand or fall, but before God my Judge, who sees me as both righteous and holy in Christ. By grace, I’m finding that being accepted because of Christ matters far more than being accepted and forgiven by others. Granted, I still pray for an opportunity to make things right, but, by grace, no longer will I accept condemnation from my conscience or any man. I am Christ’s and Christ is mine. 

Yes, I’m a failure, I’ve made mistakes. I’ve hurt people, people I wish I could make things right with. And one day, I hope that I can. But for now, I’m going to embrace accusation as true, but not final. I can’t gain any more acceptance with God because of a perfect past or flawless future. I’m taking my broken myself to the cross and entrusting myself to my Savior’s forgiveness and grace. May God be glorified in my weak body! 

“Just as I am. Just as I was. Just as I will be. He loves me. He does. He showed me the day that He shed His own blood. He loves me. Oh He loves me. He does. He loves me. Oh He loves me. He does.” -Andrew Peterson (Love & Thunder)

Embracing Accusation (Shane and Shane)  Click on the link to listen the song or read it here: 
The father of lies
Coming to steal
Kill and destroy
All my hopes of being good enough
I hear him saying cursed are the ones
Who can’t abide
He’s right
Alleluia he’s right!

The devil is preaching
The song of the redeemed
That I am cursed and gone astray
I cannot gain salvation
Embracing accusation

Could the father of lies
Be telling the truth
Of God to me tonight?
If the penalty of sin is death
Then death is mine
I hear him saying cursed are the ones
Who can’t abide
He’s right
Alleluia he’s right!

Oh the devil’s singing over me
An age old song
That I am cursed and gone astray
Singing the first verse so conveniently
He’s forgotten the refrain
Jesus saves!


Because of Christ, I’m daily showered with good gifts. I’m particularly thankful for the good gift of my husband, who is a faithful preacher of these truths to me. I love you Daniel! 




So whatcha thinkin'?

