ex nihilo

The other day I was listening to this song:

(track 11 – I couldn’t find a full version for you guys to listen to, sorry!) 

Verse 1 

Please have mercy on me, O God

According to Your steadfast love
Blot out my iniquity

Verse 2 
Whiter than the snow that falls
Is the soul washed in Your blood
I’m guilty; come cover me

Chorus 
Create in me a clean heart, a pure heart
You are the joy of my salvation
Create in me a clean heart, a pure heart
Here in Your presence I will sing

Verse 3 
Sin has brought me to my knees
Mercy lifts me to my feet
Gratefulness is filling me

Bridge 
Just as I am, without one plea
But that You shed Your blood for me
And You bid me come
O Lamb of God, I come 


. . . and it dawned on me . . . 

When God created the world, and everything in it, He didn’t use any preexisting materials. He created everything out of nothing (ex nihilo). It is no different with my heart! I have no innate good in me that He uses to create purity or joyfulness. He creates this new heart out of nothing. That’s why we’re promised that we’ll be given a “heart of flesh” in place of the “heart of stone” we once possessed. “And I will give them one heart, and a new spirit I will put within them. I will remove the heart of stone from their flesh and give them a heart of flesh, that they may walk in my statutes and keep my rules and obey them. And they shall be my people, and I will be their God” (Ezekiel 11:19-20 ESV). A surgical procedure takes place to remove the old and implant the new. And this very process is occurring in me, and all my brothers and sisters in Christ! Aren’t  you so relieved He isn’t restricted to using the raw materials you have to offer? No, He creates your new, pure, clean heart out of nothing by the power of His will and goodness of His Word. 
One comment

  1. Beautiful post, Susanna.

So whatcha thinkin'?

